Bayfield/Apostles

Started by bigG, May 20, 2019, 03:04:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bigG

Heading up there for a few days at the end of June. Any recommendations. I'm staying right across from the ferry launch. Was thinking a boat tour and touring Madeline; but this is my first time up there. Hep em out!
If I agreed with you we'd both be wrong.

TomM

Not an expert, but I've visited there a few times. I'm certain others have more in depth advice than I do.
Here is my info, for what it's worth...
Visit Madeline Island and perhaps others. I camped on Stockton Island for a few days. Taking the ferry is fun with your car.
Get up early and walk down to the docks, get a coffee, sit and watch the activity.
Browse some shops. Some good crafts people.
Amnicon Falls (water fall) is not too far and a nice little adventure. It's on the way to Superior and Duluth. Those are neat places to visit for half a day.

Nice spot!
Have fun....
Seek excellence and truth instead of fame -John Prime
Courage is grace under pressure - Ernest Hemingway
Advocating "matside weigh-in" since 1997
"That's why they wrestle the matches"

garygb

Take a half day sea kayaking excursion to the sea caves.

Rent bicycles to take over to Madeline Island rather than taking your car on the ferry.

Check out the performances at Big Top Chatauqua.

imnofish

If you can charter a guided fishing trip on Lake Superior, fishing the area around the Apostle Islands can be a productive and the views are amazing. 
None are so hopelessly enslaved, as those who falsely believe they are free. The truth has been kept from the depth of their minds by masters who rule them with lies. -Johann Von Goethe

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints!

bigG

Wish i could afford the fishing. The Mrs. isn't quite as into it as I am.

Amnicon is on the list. I'll probably ferry the car so I can drive Madeline. Kayaking sounds good. Most recommend this highly.