Team state officiating

Started by Preparewrestlingcoach, March 06, 2020, 08:22:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Preparewrestlingcoach

I'm sick and tired of how this tournament is officiated it's still supposed to be Wiaa folkstyle wrestling. I've never been to team state as a athlete or coach I have no ties to the teams just wanna see some good wrestling. I go watch every year. I always regret it. The definition of stalling is avoiding wrestling. I watch a kid from arrowhead attempt to cut the mukwanago kid for last 10 seconds of the match with the mukwanago kid laying on his belly holding an arm refusing to wrestle and no call is made yet in every match a wrestler who is "supposed" to win gets stalling point after stalling point just because they can't turn the kid on bottom. Stalling is avoiding wrestling it should be called at team state the way it is all season and the fact that it isn't is despicable.

thequad

I also see a huge difference in calling near fall points. Some refs are calling them at 90 degrees and others are following the rule of 45 degrees.
I am now OLD enough to know how little I knew when I knew it ALL.

downtown

Stalling is always so hard to call uniformly in reffing.  As long as the official calls it the same consistently from match to match that is all you can ask for.  I wished they called stalling more often on the guy on bottom who doesn't work up and also more in the first period.  Refs for some reason love to call stalling on the guy who is winning late in the third period during the bigger matches.  IMO.  Reffing is a tough job though.

MarkK