Frustration...

Started by Bark, February 24, 2014, 01:09:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bark

Don't want to start a fire here, just looking for advice... 

My son's on his second year with his high school team, and while I'm no expert, I've come to the opinion that their team is in desperate need of new leadership.  They've been a perennial conference doormat, despite inheriting several kids each year with a good base of skill and past experience.  Their coach, while having what seems to my untrained eye to be a decent basic knowledge of the sport, has absolutely zero ability or willingness to motivate.  There is little encouragement for the kids to do off-season work, and most surprisingly, ZERO use of the school's weight training setup, unless the kids take it on themselves to seek out the school's trainer on their own.  If my son hadn't years of training with a terrific youth club coach (with strong ties to a rival program, incidentally), he wouldn't have had a chance.

While we certainly don't want the out-of-control screaming type of coach, this guy shows absolutely no enthusiasm or urgency on the sideline; usually sitting in the matside chair with his arms folded, with a blank expression on his face and offering little to no instruction or encouragement.  He seems to be completely out of touch with what's going on out there.  After a meet where the squad was pummeled by 60+ points, he actually stated he was happy with their performance, despite the fact that several of his wrestlers seemed to submit to pins the minute they were taken down.  My son's former youth coach would have been losing his mind...lack of skill can be forgiven, but lack of effort needs to be met head-on and fast, or you get what we have here.  He's an okay person, so I don't want to throw him under the bus, but he's clearly not fit for the job.