Thoughts from a parent of a wrestler-the greatest sport

Started by coastguard, February 05, 2018, 03:29:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

coastguard

It is crazy to think how fast the time has gone for my time as a wrestling parent.  I was a Head Coach when my son was younger and I brought him with me to camps, freestyle tournaments and most club practices.  He did not officially start wrestling in the club until 3rd grade.  The first few years we went to just a couple tournaments each year and increased once he got into middle school.  He had fun, met great friends and even starting doing extra club practices in late middle school.  Fast forward a few years and I am no longer the coach (Principal)...Once he got into high school, he continued to play 3 sports with wrestling being one of them.  He did a little bit of freestyle, but decided that he did not want to do extra club practices.  He participated each year in summer team practices and team camps.  His choice....As a former coach was hard for me to swallow.  How could my son be one of those kids not fully committed to the overall goal.... it caused some frustrations with expectations of doing all of the extras in the sport.  I am so glad we (I) got past that...I have been so fortunate to see him love to compete in football, wrestling and baseball and do very well in school.  The past two seasons, I believe he has once again found a love for the sport of wrestling...for many reasons...his coach, his team and  not having his Dad expecting more dedication in the off season.